Introduction

Hello everybody! Welcome to the first post in a blog that aims to document interesting things that I’ve observed as I stumble through the world. The picture above is actually from a week or two ago and the opposite side of the world from where I am now: the reflection of a tree in Lake Monger (Leederville, Western Australia).

Right now I’m in Swanley, which is – depending on your perspective – either South-East London or Kent. Technically it’s within the M25 and only half an hour by train from London, which makes it London enough for me. But it’s not the kind of place most people think of when they hear the word “London”.

I don’t have a set-in-stone expectation for what I’ll end up posting here, but it will probably be a mix of photography, my thoughts about life, and to a lesser extent what’s going on in my life at the time. After kicking myself for not having a “proper” camera with me for most of this year on my trip to England and then doing the Mongol Rally, I’ve started making an effort to start making photos again, with an emphasis on the interesting observations that I make in the “ordinary” as I go about life.

I should also perhaps explain the title of this blog: a pun on the phrase “ƒ/8 and be there“.

Some of my recent photographic inspirations include the “The Practice of Contemplative Photography” and the blogs of Mark “The Landscapist” Hobson and Andreas Manessinger. I shall no doubt end up talking more later about the kinds of photos I do and don’t appreciate, and where this has led my thoughts on what photos I’d like to be taking myself, in later posts.

Leave a Reply

